Shoes On, Laces Tied

by ericamclellan

Today I did something that would normally put absolute fear in my heart.
I ran a 5km race. 

Image

 

Now, many people would think, why would this cause you such fear, Erica?

To them I say, I have a historic tendency to be SUPER anxious and not be able to either run the whole thing, not even start, or maybe not even finish… But since it has been 5 years since my last organized race, I figured it was high time to face my fear. 

I don’t know my time yet (it will be posted online tomorrow!) but it wasn’t even about getting a great time, it was about finishing the race without walking… and without crying. At 22 I am at a place in my life where I am comfortable with myself and my abilities. And after reading a really great quote last night before I went to sleep, I knew that I was going to be just fine. And I was. I ran the race. 

 

ImageWhen I read this, I think of inspiring myself, not others. 
Imperfections, including my own, inspire me. 

 

Today I beat a fear. It’s a pretty cool feeling. 

