I Got My Ticket For The Long Way Round

by ericamclellan

busk·er

noun \ˈbəs-kər\

chiefly British

:a person who entertains in a public space, typically for money

__________________________________________________________________________

This weekend I have plans to go busking in downtown Kamloops. I have never done anything like this before, but I am looking forward to putting myself out there and seeing what happens… and maybe even make a little bit of money. It does help that I will be going with two of my good friends. It will make the experience that much greater as we will be building memories as we experience new things.

I will be singing… this is something I am still getting used to. I never really thought I was much of a singer, I just knew that I liked to do it to relieve stress when I was home alone or when I was driving. The steering wheel seems like the best audience to me most days. But, I was jamming with a friend on the weekend (again, another rarity) and we recorded our version on the cup song that I first saw by Anna Burden on Youtube, and then was made famous in the movie Pitch Perfect. And it was AWESOME! I don’t mean the performance, although, I was pretty pumped about it, but the whole experience. We posted it on Facebook and I felt like a little internet celebrity among my friends. Many people said that they did not know I could sing like that… Honestly, I didn’t know I could either.

I am excited. I am trying new things. I am stepping out of my comfort zone. I am falling in love with my life and that is such a wonderful feeling.

If you are interested in hearing our version, check it out!

When I’m Gone (The Cup Song)

