What’s In A Name?

by ericamclellan

Erica \e-ri-ca\ as a girl’s name is pronounced AIR-a-ka. It is of Old Norse origin, and the meaning of Erica is “forever or alone, ruler“. Feminine form of Eric. Scandinavian name revived in the 19th century. The Latin word “erica” means “the heather plant”.

 

Names are such funny things. How come certain words are associated with particular objects? How come certain names are associated with particular people?

I am named Erica. My grandpa is named Eric. As far as I know, and as far as I can tell, I was named after him. I love my grandpa. And not just the ‘we are family so we have to say we love each other’ kind of way. I really think he is a cool person. I enjoy spending time with him.

My mom told me she also thought abut naming me Heather. I guess she sort of filled that, as Erica means the heather plant in Latin. I am glad I am not a Heather.

I wonder how I have been impacted by my name. Does your name shape you? I think it does. People will treat you differently based on what they call you. If you share a name with their bully from high school they will probably have a preconceived idea of your characteristics. If you have a unique name you might be looked at as an oddball, or never forgotten because of the individuality that your name brings along.

A name is not just what people call you, it is part of who you are.

